American Health & Medical Research Association
Evaluating products

How to compare two supplements that look identical

Two bottles on the same shelf can deliver very different doses, forms and guarantees. We walk through the order to check them in, and where the comparison breaks down.

Sources12, listed below Reading time13 minutes
On this page
  1. Start with the form, not the number
  2. Units and servings: settle them, then move on
  3. Where the comparison stops cold
  4. Verification, and how to check it yourself
  5. What else is in the capsule
  6. A comparison worksheet you can use
  7. When paying more buys nothing

Pick up two supplement bottles that look the same and you’ll usually find they aren’t.

This is a number that makes the point. Ferrous gluconate is about 12 percent iron by weight. Ferrous sulfate is about 20 percent. Ferrous fumarate is about 33 percent. The National Institutes of Health Office of Dietary Supplements publishes each of those percentages. Run 325 milligrams of each compound through that math and you get roughly 39, 65 and 107 milligrams of actual iron. Same weight of powder. Nearly a threefold spread in what you’re buying.

That gap isn’t a trick. It’s chemistry, and it’s disclosed. But it only shows up if you know where to look, and in what order.

This matters to a lot of people. A federal survey from 2017 to 2018, published by the CDC’s National Center for Health Statistics in February 2021, found that 57.6 percent of US adults aged 20 and over had used a dietary supplement in the previous 30 days, and 13.8 percent had used four or more. That’s a lot of shopping decisions made in front of a shelf.

Most shoppers compare two things: the big number on the front and the price. Those are close to the two least useful numbers on the package. This is an order that works better.

One note on scope before we start. This piece is about the attributes that separate two products: what’s in them, what form it takes, who checked, and what else came along. The money math is a different job. Our companion article handles cost per serving and cost per milligram, and you should do that second, after you know what you’re holding.

Start with the form, not the number

A supplement’s form is the specific chemical it uses to deliver the thing you want. Minerals arrive as salts. Vitamin E arrives as natural or synthetic alpha-tocopherol. Vitamin D arrives as D2 or D3. Botanicals arrive as raw powder or as a concentrated extract. The form changes the number you should be comparing, and sometimes it changes what your body does with what’s in the capsule.

Calcium shows both effects at once. Two calcium salts can hold very different amounts of calcium per milligram of powder, which is a weight question and belongs to the arithmetic article. They also behave differently once swallowed, which doesn’t. The Office of Dietary Supplements reports that carbonate dissolves less well when stomach acid is low, so it performs better taken with a meal, while citrate depends less on stomach acid and can be taken without food.

Neither one is simply better. Someone on an acid-reducing medication and someone who swallows everything first thing on an empty stomach will not want the same bottle. That’s a difference no price tag carries, and it’s the kind of thing this comparison exists to surface.

Vitamin E is the sharpest example of form changing substance. Natural alpha-tocopherol shows up on labels as d-alpha-tocopherol. Synthetic shows up as dl-alpha-tocopherol. According to the Office of Dietary Supplements, the synthetic version is about half as active weight for weight, because it contains eight stereoisomers and the body retains only four of them in blood and tissue. For meeting the recommended intake, 2 milligrams of synthetic counts as 1 milligram.

Two products listing the same milligrams of vitamin E are not, in any practical sense, the same product. One letter on the label, a d or a dl, is doing all the work.

Vitamin D splits a similar way. D2 is ergocalciferol and D3 is cholecalciferol. The Office of Dietary Supplements says both are well absorbed and both appear able to cure rickets, but most evidence indicates D3 raises blood levels of 25-hydroxyvitamin D further and holds them up longer. When two bottles are otherwise even and one of them is D3, you have a reason to pick it that has nothing to do with what either costs.

Botanical extracts add one more layer. FDA’s dietary supplement labeling guide explains that a liquid extract is declared by the weight or volume of the total extract, along with the condition of the starting material, while a dried extract is declared by the weight of the dried extract. So “500 mg of extract” and “500 mg of dried herb” are two different statements about two different things that happen to share a number.

The first question is never how many milligrams. It’s milligrams of what.

Standardization beats a bigger number

For anything botanical, check one more attribute before you look at anything else: whether the label tells you how concentrated the plant material is.

A 2026 paper in The Journal of Nutrition proposes the term “perception filler” for a declared ingredient that contributes more to a formula’s apparent completeness than to anything measurable. Its main example is raw botanical powder listed among the active ingredients, where the declared form gives you no basis for estimating how much active constituent is present.

A standardized extract answers that by naming a marker compound and the percentage of it present. A raw powder usually names a plant and a weight, and asks you to assume a gram of ground root is a gram of ground root. It isn’t, reliably. Growing conditions, the part of the plant used and the processing all move that number around.

So when one product is standardized and the other isn’t, that difference outranks the gap in price, and it outranks a larger milligram figure too. A bigger pile of unspecified plant material is not a bigger dose.

Units and servings: settle them, then move on

Two mechanics can wreck a comparison before it starts, and both of them are arithmetic rather than attributes.

The first is units. An IU is not a fixed quantity of anything, and whether it converts cleanly into milligrams depends on the nutrient and, for vitamin E, on which molecule is in the capsule. The second is the gap between the weight of a compound and the weight of the useful part inside it, where the smaller number on the front of the box is sometimes the larger dose.

The arithmetic of cost per unit is its own subject, and our article on it carries the conversions, the elemental weight rule and the worked examples. Servings belong there too: a serving is not a pill, two products that look identical often define a serving differently, and the servings-per-container line isn’t always printed on the bottle.

For the comparison in front of you, you only need one output from all of that. Get the amount of the active ingredient in a single serving, in the same unit for both products, read off the Supplement Facts panel rather than the front of the package. Write it down for each bottle and keep going.

Where the comparison stops cold

Some products can’t be compared at all, and spotting one early saves you the rest of the work.

Under FDA’s labeling rule at 21 CFR 101.36, a proprietary blend is disclosed as one line carrying the total weight of the other dietary ingredients inside it, with those ingredients named underneath and no individual amounts attached. That’s legal, and formulators have honest reasons for using blends. The effect on you is the same either way. You can’t line a blended product up against anything, including another blend, because the number you’d need isn’t published.

Treat it as a stopping rule. If the ingredient you came for sits inside a blend, write “not disclosed” in that column and finish the worksheet for the other product only. Our pieces on the Supplement Facts panel and on the price math both take blends apart.

Verification, and how to check it yourself

Third-party verification is the one quality signal a shopper can check from outside the company. It’s also widely misread.

USP’s Dietary Supplement Verification Program describes itself as a voluntary program open to finished-product manufacturers worldwide, which evaluates products against USP-NF standards for quality, purity, potency, performance and consistency, along with FDA current good manufacturing practices. It is a private program, not a government one. Nothing in that description says the program judges whether an ingredient works. Potency means the amount matches the label. It does not mean the amount accomplishes anything.

Keep those two ideas apart, because marketing blurs them constantly. A verified product is a product that is what it claims to be. Whether the thing it claims to be will help you is a question for clinical evidence, and our pieces on supplement value and on health spending take that up.

The second misreading is about the mark itself. A seal printed on a box is a graphic, and graphics are cheap. The meaningful step is the certifier’s own list. USP’s program page links to a “View Program Participants” page, and that list, not the package, is where you confirm a product is enrolled.

Three habits turn that check into something useful.

Name the certifier. If the mark doesn’t tell you which organization issued it, there’s nothing to look up. A badge reading “Lab Tested” with no body behind it is a design element, not a finding.

Look up the product, not the brand. A company can enroll one item and sell a dozen. Finding the company name in a registry tells you very little about the bottle in your hand, so match the product name and, where the registry gives one, the specific formulation.

Ask what the program covers. Programs differ in what they test and how often. Two products can both carry a mark and still have been held to different standards, so “both are certified” isn’t the end of the comparison. It’s a prompt to go read two standards.

When one product turns up in a registry you can open and the other carries a logo that leads nowhere, you’ve found a real difference, and it’s one of the very few a shopper can confirm without taking anyone’s word for it.

Our articles on what the phrase “third-party tested” establishes and on how certification schemes are built go further into both points.

What else is in the capsule

Two products can match on form, dose, servings and verification and still differ in what rides along with the active ingredient.

Start with the “Other Ingredients” line beneath the panel. That’s where binders, fillers, coatings, flow agents, sweeteners and colors live. Most of them are there for a reason, because something has to hold a tablet together and keep a powder from clumping. But this line is also where two otherwise identical products separate, and it costs you ten seconds.

Check allergen statements next, especially on anything derived from fish, shellfish, soy, dairy or wheat. A softgel shell is made of something, and that something is not always listed on the front.

Then check for added caffeine or stimulant botanicals in anything sold for energy, focus or weight. Those are easy to double up on by accident across two products, and what matters is the daily total, not what either label says on its own. Our article on reading ingredient lists covers the mechanics of all three checks.

Some differences are required warnings rather than marketing choices. FDA’s labeling guide requires solid oral iron supplements to carry a specific warning about accidental overdose, which it describes as a leading cause of fatal poisoning in children under 6. The Office of Dietary Supplements adds that since 1978, products with 250 milligrams or more of elemental iron per container have required child-resistant packaging. If one bottle in your comparison carries that warning and the other doesn’t, that’s a real difference, especially in a house with small kids.

How much provenance can you get

Less than you’d like, and knowing that is better than guessing.

A package reliably tells you who sells a product. It often doesn’t tell you who made it, and in this category those are frequently different companies.

So treat provenance as a weak signal most of the time, with two exceptions worth using. First, a verification program whose standards reach manufacturing practices is checking part of that chain on your behalf, which is one more reason a registry listing is worth more than a logo. Second, a company that will answer a direct question in writing about where a product is made has told you something real. A company that won’t has also told you something, just less of it.

When the comparison isn’t a shopping question

Some of these choices shouldn’t be made alone in a store aisle.

The Office of Dietary Supplements names interactions that have nothing to do with which bottle is better built. Vitamin K can make warfarin work less well. St. John’s wort speeds the breakdown of many medicines. A few products make bleeding more likely or alter your response to anesthesia, so ODS says your care team needs the full list before any surgery.

So if you take a blood thinner, if you have a procedure scheduled, if you’re pregnant, if you’re picking an iron product for a child, or if you’re comparing products because a lab result came back odd, stop comparing and bring both labels to a pharmacist or your clinician. Pharmacists do exactly this, they do it quickly, and they usually do it for free.

A comparison worksheet you can use

Put the two products in two columns and fill in these rows in this order. Stop at any row that makes the comparison impossible.

  1. Active ingredient and form. Not “magnesium.” Magnesium as what. Copy the parenthetical exactly.
  2. Units. Convert both to the same unit before anything else. For vitamin E, check whether it’s the d- or dl- form before you convert, because the conversion changes with the form.
  3. Amount per serving, from the panel. Take the nutrient’s own weight off the Supplement Facts panel. Never take it from the front of the box.
  4. Units per serving. Capsules, tablets, scoops or teaspoons. This is the number that turns a count into a supply.
  5. Servings per container. If the line is missing, divide row 4 into the count yourself.
  6. Blend check. If the amount you care about sits inside a proprietary blend, write “not disclosed” and stop. That product can’t be finished.
  7. Standardization. For botanicals, does the label give a percentage of a marker compound, or just a plant name and a weight?
  8. Verification. Which program, and did you find this exact product in that program’s public list?
  9. Everything else. Other ingredients, allergens, required warnings, added stimulants.

Two rules make the worksheet work. Fill in every row for both products before you judge any of them, because the rows interact and the one that decides it is rarely the one you expected walking in. And treat a blank as a finding. If you can’t fill a cell because the label doesn’t say, that absence is a difference between the two products, not a gap in your research.

Only after all nine rows do you look at price, using the method in our cost article, which includes the step most people skip: dividing by the milligrams delivered rather than by the number of capsules.

When paying more buys nothing

Sometimes the honest answer is that two products are the same and you should buy the cheaper one.

If both deliver the same amount of the same form, both carry a verification you confirmed in a registry, both have clean “Other Ingredients” lines, and neither hides anything in a blend, the remaining differences are packaging, marketing and distribution. Price is a poor proxy for quality here. A higher price buys a nicer bottle more often than it buys a better capsule.

The reverse trap is worth naming too. A bottle can be cheap because it’s efficiently made or cheap because nobody checked it, and the label looks identical in both cases. That’s precisely why rows 7 and 8 come before the price comparison rather than after it.

There’s also good reason to check that the milligrams on the label are the milligrams in the capsule. Published analyses keep finding gaps. A 2014 analysis in the Journal of Dietary Supplements examined 26 green tea products sold in the United States and found total catechin content ranging from 3.8 to 70.2 percent, with many labels not disclosing actual marker levels at all. A spread that wide inside one product category is the gap third-party verification exists to close, and it’s why a registry listing is worth more than a logo.

If you take one habit from all of this, take row one. Milligrams of what, in what form, for both products. Get that right and most of the rest of the comparison falls into place. Get it wrong and nothing downstream, including the price math, means a thing.

Sources

  1. Electronic Code of Federal Regulations (U.S. Government Publishing Office). “21 CFR 101.36, Nutrition labeling of dietary supplements.” ecfr.gov
  2. U.S. Food and Drug Administration. “Dietary Supplement Labeling Guide: Chapter IV. Nutrition Labeling.” fda.gov
  3. U.S. Food and Drug Administration. “Dietary Supplement Labeling Guide: Chapter VIII. Other Labeling Information.” fda.gov
  4. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements. “Calcium: Fact Sheet for Health Professionals.” ods.od.nih.gov
  5. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements. “Iron: Fact Sheet for Health Professionals.” ods.od.nih.gov
  6. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements. “Vitamin E: Fact Sheet for Health Professionals.” ods.od.nih.gov
  7. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements. “Vitamin D: Fact Sheet for Health Professionals.” ods.od.nih.gov
  8. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements. “Dietary Supplements: What You Need to Know.” ods.od.nih.gov
  9. CDC National Center for Health Statistics. “Mishra S, Stierman B, Gahche JJ, Potischman N. "Dietary Supplement Use Among Adults: United States, 2017-2018." NCHS Data Brief No. 399, February 2021.” cdc.gov
  10. United States Pharmacopeia. “Dietary Supplements Verification Program.” usp.org
  11. PubMed. “Alsawadi A. "The Perception Filler: A Proposed Conceptual Framework for Ingredient-Interpretation Gaps in Food Supplements." The Journal of Nutrition, 2026. DOI: 10.1016/j.tjnut.2026.101803.” doi.org
  12. PubMed. “Abourashed EA, Roberson CLA, Elsharkawy N. "Content Variation of Catechin Markers, Total Phenolics and Caffeine in Green Tea Dietary Supplements." Journal of Dietary Supplements, 2014. DOI: 10.3109/19390211.2014.965868.” doi.org